GIIF Donor Partners

European Union

The European Union is made up of 27 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources, and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy, and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance, and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders.

Sustainable agriculture and food security are at the top of the EU, G8 and G20 agendas. With over 70% of the world’s poor living in rural areas, support to agriculture and rural development is fundamental to reducing poverty and boosting growth. Moreover, up to 90% of the populations in many developing countries depend on agriculture and farming for their living, as these provide income, employment, and food, as well as raw materials for industry and exports.

EuropeAid Development and Cooperation invests approximately EUR 1 billion annually in sustainable agriculture and food security, specifically investing in building resilience and capacity development.



Japan's Ministry of Finance is one of the key donors to GIIF. The MOF is a long-term strategic partner to IFC Advisory Services and supports WBG's efforts to promote effective and sustainable markets for the agricultural, microfinance and housing sectors.


The Netherlands

The Netherlands' Ministry of Foreign Affairs is the channel through which the Dutch Government communicates with foreign governments and international organizations. The Dutch are IFC's second largest donor and the first donor to support GIIF. This key partner for WBG is focused on the eradication of extreme poverty and support for sustainable and inclusive growth globally.



The African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organization created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. It is composed of 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific states, with all of them, save Cuba, signatories to the Cotonou Agreement, also known as the "ACP-EC Partnership Agreement" which binds them to the European Union. There are 48 countries from Sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific.

The ACP Group´s main objectives are:

·         sustainable development of its Member-States and their gradual integration into the global economy, which entails making poverty reduction a matter of priority and establishing a new, fairer, and more equitable world order;

·         coordination of the activities of the ACP Group in the framework of the implementation of ACP-EC Partnership Agreements;

·         consolidation of unity and solidarity among ACP States, as well as understanding among their peoples; and

·         establishment and consolidation of peace and stability in a free and democratic society.


List of ACP Countries

Angola - Antigua and Barbuda - Belize - Cape Verde - Comoros - Bahamas - Barbados - Benin - Botswana - Burkina Faso - Burundi - Cameroon - Central African Republic - Chad - Congo (Brazzaville) - Congo (Kinshasa) - Cook Islands - Cte d'Ivoire - Cuba - Djibouti - Dominica - Dominican Republic - Eritrea - Ethiopia - Fiji - Gabon - Gambia - Ghana - Grenada - Republic of Guinea - Guinea-Bissau - Equatorial Guinea - Guyana - Haiti - Jamaica - Kenya - Kiribati - Lesotho - Liberia - Madagascar - Malawi - Mali - Marshall Islands - Mauritania - Mauritius - Micronesia - Mozambique - Namibia - Nauru - Niger - Nigeria - Niue - Palau - Papua New Guinea - Rwanda - St. Kitts and Nevis - St. Lucia - St. Vincent and the Grenadines - Solomon Islands - Samoa - Sao Tome and Principe - Senegal - Seychelles - Sierra Leone - Somalia - South Africa - Sudan - Suriname - Swaziland - Tanzania - Timor Leste - Togo - Tonga - Trinidad and Tobago - Tuvalu - Uganda - Vanuatu - Zambia - Zimbabwe



The G7 Initiative on Climate Risk Insurance aims to increase access to direct or indirect insurance coverage against the impacts of climate change for up to 400 million of the most vulnerable people in developing countries by 2020.

According to recent estimates, only about 100 million people in developing countries and emerging economies are currently covered by climate risk insurance.

Also known as “InsuResilience”, the initiative was adopted at the G7 Summit in Elmau/Germany in June 2015 and is to be implemented in close partnership between the G7 states, developing countries and emerging economies.

The G7 recognizes that significant funding will be necessary and can leverage several billion USD of risk from the private insurance and re-insurance industry.

Innovative Approaches Needed to Reach the Most Vulnerable

The overall objective of the initiative is to stimulate the creation of effective climate risk insurance markets and the smart use of insurance-related schemes for people and risk-prone assets in developing countries.

While the initiative focuses primarily on insurance instruments, it is to be complemented with innovative and non -traditional approaches in order to reach the poor and most vulnerable.

The G7 is currently preparing a rapid action plan of initial key measures ahead of the UN Climate Change Conference in Paris (COP21, 30 November to 11 December). The main focus of the rapid action plan is on the expansion of existing regional risk facilities.